Central Bedfordshire Council elections results

Conservatives lose 11 seats

Voters across Central Bedfordshire have elected a new council made up of 41 Conservative councillors, 13 Independents, three Liberal Democrats, one Labour councillor and one UK Independence Party councillor.

The previous administration was made up of 52 Conservatives, four Independent councillors, two Labour councillors and one Liberal Democrat. Although Conservative majority is reduced, today’s (3 May) result represents no change in overall control.

There were 201 candidates for the 59 seats.

Central Bedfordshire Council’s Chief Executive and Returning Officer, Richard Carr, welcomed the new Council. He said:

“As well as congratulating our newly elected Members, I would also like to thank the hundreds of polling and count staff who have supported these elections. Our elections team have done a fantastic job.”

Marston Vale Results

Announcements about which councillors will take up different positions on the Council, including appointments to the Executive and the role of Council Chairman, will be made at the Annual Meeting, which will take place at Priory House on Thursday, 16 May, starting at 6.30pm.

Cranfield and Marston Moretaine

Candidate Description Votes cast
Roger Alastair Baker  UK Independence Party (UKIP) 695
Susan Clark  Conservative Party Candidate 1,508 Elected
John Robert Guinn Independent 1,042
Kenneth Charles Matthews  Conservative Party Candidate 1,285 Elected
Robert William Morris Conservative Party Candidate 1,183 Elected 
Karl Christian O'Dell  Labour Party  435
Alison Heather Parker  Green Party 772
Elizabeth Margaret Rooney  Labour Party  630
Alan Victor  Renew  241
Michelle Tracy White  Labour Party  507

Houghton Conquest and Haynes

Candidates Description Votes cast
Rebecca Isabelle Spottiswood Hares  Independent 383 Elected 
Martin Hawkins  Conservative Party Candidate  311 
Richard Clive Eric James  Independent  111 
David William Austin Short  Labour Party  107 

Counting is also taking place today (3 May) for town and parish councils in many areas across Central Bedfordshire.

Due to a lack of candidates, there wasn’t an election for the following parish councils:

  • Brogborough Parish Council
  • Cranfield Parish Council
  • Houghton Conquest Parish Council
  • Hulcote and Salford Parish Council
  • Lidlington Parish Council
  • Marston Moreteyne Parish Council
  • Ridgmont Parish Council

For the full election results for Central Bedfordshire, visit www.centralbedfordshire.gov.uk/cbcresults

For the full election results for town and Parish councils www.centralbedfordshire.gov.uk/tpresults