Pictured: All Fire Service personnel who received their 20/25 year Long Service award, alongside Cllr John Chatterley, LLT Helen Nellis and Chief Fire Officer Andrew Hopkinson

On Tuesday (16 November 2021) Bedfordshire Fire and Rescue Service held an awards event at Wyboston Lakes to recognise those that had achieved their 20 years’ and 25 years of Service.

The Long Service and Good Conduct Awards were presented on behalf of The Queen by the HM Lord Lieutenant Helen Nellis.

The presentation of the Fire Brigade Long Service Medal was established in June 1954 as a long service medal awarded to full-time and part-time members of fire brigades throughout the United Kingdom, the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands.

The medal is awarded for 20 years of good and efficient service.

Chief Fire Officer Andrew Hopkinson said:

“Our long service awards evening was an opportunity to come together and celebrate the enduring commitment of our staff who have completed, on this occasion, 20- and 25-years’ service to our fire and rescue service.

“It was also my chance to say thank you in person to the recipients families and friends, who often go unrecognised but do so much to support and enable our staff to come to work and do all the amazing things they do on a daily basis.

“This has been particularly important during the past 18 months when our Service has really stepped up and ‘dared to be different’ in delivering new and innovative ways of working together with our partners to help and support our communities during the pandemic.

“It was a lovely ceremony and I’m very grateful to our Fire Authority Members and particularly to HM Lord Lieutenant, Helen Nellis, who took time out from her incredibly busy diary to join us and present the awards.”

The 20-year Long Service and Good Conduct Medals were presented to;

  • Firefighter Gavin Armstrong
  • Crew Commander Dave Carney
  • Crew Commander Dominic Cook
  • Firefighter Stuart Cox
  • Firefighter Mark Cree
  • Crew Commander Simon Ford
  • Watch Commander Control Rebecca Lewington
  • Crew Commander Haydon Littlewood
  • Crew Commander Simon Olding
  • Firefighter Danny Roberts
  • Crew Commander Graham Sharp
  • Firefighter Simon Stanton
  • Crew Commander Alan Tuffnell
  • Station Commander James West

A long service certificate for over 25 years of service was presented to Crew Commander Alex Russell and Area Commander Jason Tai.